Interior Design Podcast

Bringing Together Passion, Art, and Community for Development with Robert Soning and Trilbey Gordon of Londonewcastle.

9th October 2018

Click play below to listen to the podcast



Welcome back to the Interior Style Hunter Podcast and today we host a conversation with Robert Soning and Trilbey Gordon of design conscious development company Londonewcastle.

We also cover the company’s beginnings and how these two came to collaborate in the manner in which they currently do. Robert tells us about the art-focussed initiatives that Londonewcastle spearheads, providing spaces and platforms for local artists to exhibit and Trilbey gives us some behind the scenes access to what keeps her creatively inspired. For all this and much more, be sure to tune in!

They are here to tell us all about the fascinating and inspiring work that the company does! Both of our guests stress the importance of creative and artistic flair and freedom in the work that they do as we chat about makes them and Londonewcastle tick.

Key Points From This Episode:

  • Londonewcastle’s positioning of itself as a design conscious development company.
  • The founding of the company in the late 90s and the time leading up to this.
  • Trilbey’s fashion background, and her influence and curation of Londonewcastle.
  • The growth of Tribley’s work from its smaller beginnings.
  • How Trilbey and Robert started to collaborate.
  • What sets Londonewcastle developments apart from the rest of the market.
  • Some of our guests’ favourite projects they have worked on.
  • Londonewcastle’s penchant for the unconventional.
  • Collaboration and the search for beauty and meaning in development.
  • The personal values that inform the company’s work and ethics.
  • Sources of inspiration and ideas for Robert and Trilbey.
  • The biggest challenge that Londonewcastle has faced since it started.
  • The self belief that has served the work that Londonewcastle has carried out.
  • Looking forward to an exciting future and projects on the horizon.
  • A round of quick fire questions with our guests!
  • And much more!

Tweetables:

“I would normally never want to work with a property company.” — @londonewcastle [0:06:28.8]

“It’s all about being visionary.” — @londonewcastle [0:08:46.2]

“The important this is having the ability to understand that at each development, you have to design around the location and the character of the area and the people who live there.” — @londonewcastle [0:10:55.7]

Links Mentioned in Today’s Episode:

  1. Londonewcastle — https://londonewcastle.com/ 
  2. Robert Soning — https://www.linkedin.com/in/robert-soning-a43a1b14b/  
  3. Trilbey Gordon — http://www.trilbeygordoninteriors.com/
  4. Vogue — https://www.vogue.co.uk
  5. Central Saint Martin — https://www.arts.ac.uk/colleges/central-saint-martins
  6. Architectural Digest — https://www.architecturaldigest.com/
  7. Elle Decoration — http://www.elledecoration.co.uk/
  8. Marie Claire — https://www.marieclaire.co.uk/
  9. Sunday Times — https://www.thetimes.co.uk/
  10. The Henson — https://www.tatehindle.co.uk/projects/the-henson/
  11. Gallery 46 Whitechapel — http://www.whitechapelgallery.org/first-thursdays/galleries/first-thursday-gallery-46/
  12. Balfron Tower — https://www.wallpaper.com/architecture/balfron-tower-brutalism-london-londonewcastle-studio-egret-west-brody-associates
  13. Great Expectations — https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2623.Great_Expectations
  14. Jason Shulman — https://www.jasonshulmanstudio.com/

You Might Also Like